Upcoming Events

2017 Board Elections

Our annual election season is upon us once again. This year, Monday, March 27th has been selected to be our election date, with a closing time of 8:00pm.

The SFBACC Board of Directors comprises of nine members - three officers (president, vice president, and secretary/treasurer), five at-large members, and a past president - all of whom serve two-year terms.

All nine members serve on a volunteer basis.

Terms of the Positions
Board members elected last year, whose terms expire in March 2018 are:

  • Sarah Walsh, President (president@bayareacurling.com)
  • At-large Director, currently held by Jay Diamond (jay@bayareacurling.com)
  • At-large Director, currently held by Sean Franey (seanfraney@bayareacurling.com)
  • At-large Director, currently held by William McMorris (bill@bayareacurling.com)
  • The balance of elected positions, whose terms expire this year, and are up for election for two-year terms expiring March 2019, are:

  • Barry Ivy, Vice-President (vp@bayareacurling.com)
  • Richard Lazarowich, Secretary/Treasurer (treasurer@bayareacurling.com)
  • At-large Director, currently held by Jim Muyo (muyo@bayareacurling.com)
  • At-large Director, currently held by Brian Patrick (brian@bayareacurling.com)
  • The current past president is Brian Davidson (bdavidson@bayareacurling.com).

    Closing of Nominations
    Pursuant to our club's bylaws, the nomination process shall close 30 days prior to our election date - at 8:00pm, on Saturday, February 25th. Self-nomination as well as the nomination of someone else is accepted and, furthermore, a person may be nominated and run for multiple positions with the highest winning position being the role assumed.

    All nominations should be sent to election@bayareacurling.com. If you have any questions or wish to learn more about joining the Board of Directors please reach out to any current Board member.

    Acceptance of Nominations
    All nominees will be contacted at the time of their nomination and all nominations must be accepted within 72 hours of the closing of the nomination process - at 8:00pm, on Tuesday, February 28th. Nominees must be paid-up club members, in good standing, at the time of acceptance.

    Voting Eligibility
    Anyone who purchases a club membership by the election closing time will be eligible to vote. If one desires to make such a purchase, please find and submit the appropriate form through www.bayareacurling.com/membership.

    Election Validity
    Pursuant to our club by-laws, an election is deemed valid if 50% + 1 member participate in the vote. At the time of the writing of this notice, there are 181 members of the SFBACC.

    Please direct all questions to election@bayareacurling.com.