Upcoming Events


The San Francisco Bay Area Curling Club is building our own curling center in Oakland set to open in 2021. Our affiliation with Oakland Ice Center has ended. Join our mailing list to be notified when new Intro-to-Curling Clinics are announced and leagues are forming.

Interested in a corporate or group events at our new curling center? Find out more »

2020 Board Elections & AGM


The 2020 SFBACC election results are in! Please congratulate and thank the following members who will make up the 2020-2021 SFBACC Board of Directors:
Alex Baxter - President
Heather Pritchard - Secretary
Kim Chapin - At-Large Director
Megan Richards - At-Large Director
Ken Wallis - At-Large Director
Mikhail Simin - At-Large Director (1-year term)

Continuing Board Members are:
Michael Greenberg - Treasurer
Dylan Bland - At-Large Director
Jim Oller - At-Large Director

The vacant Vice President position will be filled by an At-Large board member at a later date.

We'd also like to give a huge thank you to our outgoing board members, Erik Jensen, Katie Mordarski, and Sarah Walsh!

Original Announcement
Our annual election season is upon us once again. Our 2020 Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held on Monday, March 30th at 7pm and has moved to a virtual event due to social distancing measure required during the COVID-19 outbreak. Members can join by video or audio from www.uberconference.com/bayareacurling, by phone from 925-270-4300, or through the Uberconference Android or iOS app by selecting "Join another call" and entering "bayareacurling" in the conference url field.

During the AGM we will conduct any outstanding board business, review the status of dedicated ice, conclude our club elections, and have an open forum among members. Our club elections will conclude at 7:30pm. Any club member may cast a vote online up until that time.

The SFBACC Board of Directors currently comprises of nine members - four officers (president, vice president, secretary, treasurer) and five at-large members.

Terms of the Positions
Board positions whose terms expire this year, and are up for election for two-year terms expiring March 2022, are:

  • President, currently held by Sarah Walsh
  • Secretary, currently held by Katie Mordarski
  • At-large Director, currently held by Ken Wallis
  • At-large Director, currently held by Megan Richards
  • At-large Director, currently held by Erik Jensen
  • The other current directors, who will continue to serve until their terms also expire March 2021 are:

  • Alex Baxter, Vice President
  • Mike Greenberg, Treasurer
  • Dylan Bland, At-large Director
  • Jim Oller, At-large Director
  • Closing of Nominations
    Pursuant to our club's bylaws, the nomination process shall close 30 days prior to our election date - at 8:00pm, on Friday, February 28th. Self-nomination as well as the nomination of someone else is accepted and, furthermore, a person may be nominated and run for multiple positions. All nominations should be sent to election@bayareacurling.com.

    Acceptance of Nominations
    All nominees will be contacted at the time of their nomination and all nominations must be accepted within 72 hours of the closing of the nomination process - at 8:00pm, on Monday, March 2nd. Nominees must be paid-up club members, in good standing, at the time of acceptance.

    Voting Eligibility
    Anyone who purchases a vote-granting type of club membership by the election closing time will be eligible to vote. If one desires to make such a purchase, please find and submit the appropriate form through www.bayareacurling.com/membership.

    Election Validity
    Pursuant to our club's bylaws, an election is deemed valid if 50% + 1 of members counting towards the quorum participate in the vote.

    Please direct all questions to election@bayareacurling.com.